The New Law of Attraction in Financial Planning

Have you ever had an “Ah Ha” moment when things seemed to become crystal clear to you and everything just made sense? This happened to me recently after an acquaintance recommended a book called “Think and Grow Rich”, written by Napoleon Hill in 1937. As a Certified Financial Planner™ practitioner, I have read many books on personal finance and financial planning over the years, however nothing prepared me for what I read in “Think and Grow Rich”.

My Coach
I utilize a coach to help me learn things about my industry, stay ahead of the curve, manage my time more efficiently, and learn about the things that I don’t know that I don’t know. While going through my coaching program, I was given a book list that would help me to gain insight from other experts in my industry. Among the books, was a book on “values-based” financial planning. Now I already knew that values were important in financial planning, however after reading Napoleon Hill’s book, I had my “Ah Ha” moment. The values conversation became crystallized in my mind. Picture the following:

On a routine visit to your doctor, you are told that you have a rare medical condition and you only have 6 months to live.

Would you be doing what you are doing right now in your life and your business? If you aren’t, why not?

What would you be doing differently? If you had only 6 months, would you be tempted to want to make a difference? How about reconcile with your family and relationships? What will people remember you for? “What will be written on your tombstone?”

Over the years, I have encountered many different kinds of people who each have their own ideas about what they want from their money. In many cases, I have found that people don’t know what they want from their money, or their life for that matter. Early on, I realized that it was important to help people to focus on their goals, rather than the return in their portfolio. When I read “Think and Grow Rich”, my mind saw something that had I had not seen before. Goals are not values. A big portfolio, buying a vacation home or a fancy new car does not bring happiness. If you answer why those things are important and how achieving those make you feel, you will have a better understanding of your values. The value could be, “Buying the home makes me feel like I have accomplished something”. Why is that important? “Accomplishment makes me feel fully fulfilled”, you might answer. Take the time to understand the values behind your goals.

Your ”Wake Up” Moment 
We have all heard stories about people who survived horrible diseases, had near death experiences, or had some other life “wake-up” event that stirred them to change their life. Perhaps you remember the scene in the WWII movie “Saving Private Ryan” when just before Tom Hanks dies, he tells Private Ryan to “Earn This”, (his life was saved by men who died saving him). Were continually reminded about the deeds of “The Greatest Generation” and are often amazed at how purposefully that generation lived their life. Perhaps it was because this generation faced the definite reality that every day in battle could be their last. Perhaps that they told themselves that if they lived, they would live a purposeful life. Perhaps if the doctor told you that you only had 6 months to live, your priorities might be different than they are today.

Ultimately, using your money to achieve what’s really important to you is the law of attraction in financial planning. People have strong emotional connections to their money and what it means to them. When you successfully make the mental connection between your true underlying values and your financial goals, it will serve as a personal compass and a discernible foundation for an inspiring plan for your money and your life.

7 Comments

Filed under FINANCIAL PLANNING

7 responses to “The New Law of Attraction in Financial Planning

  1. Mirriam

    Hi Richie, besides the book “Think and Grow Rich”. I am sure you have heard of the Law of Attraction and how it has helped many people to succeed in life. Recently, I came across a thought-provoking free report titled “Attraction Acceleration Report” by Bob Procter on the Law of Attraction. This report is free for download from the following URL:

    http://www.personalgrowthselfesteem.com/

    I am sure you you would find this report useful. You may wish to check this out.

  2. Ross Cornwell

    I enjoyed reading your comments about “Think and Grow Rich” today and thought you might be interested to learn that a new edition of Napoleon Hill’s classic book has been published.

    The book’s title is “Think and Grow Rich!” (subtitled) “The Original Version, Restored and Revised.” I am the editor/annotator of this new 412-page edition, which is really an homage to Dr. Hill. (For several years I was the editor-in-chief of “Think & Grow Rich Newsletter.”)

    What I have done is this: to restore Dr. Hill’s book to its original manuscript content (it was first published in 1937, but was abridged in 1960), annotate it with more than 50 pages of endnotes (most of the persons and events he discusses are generally unknown to readers today), index it thoroughly, add an appendix with a wealth of additional information about Dr. Hill and his work, and revise the book in ways to help remove certain “impediments” to reading the book today (language that today would be considered obsolete, sexist or racist). None of these things had previously been done with TGR.

    If you would like to learn a little more about this project, a quick visit to http://www.tgr-restored-revised.com will give you some details. The “Editor’s Foreword” provides more complete information, and the “Testimonials” page will demonstrate how well-received this new book is around the world. Here is the book’s Amazon.com page:

    http://www.amazon.com/Think-Grow-Rich-Original-Restored/dp/1593302002/sr=1-1/qid=1172004763/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/103-1493475-7148634?ie=UTF8&s=books

    The book is available on all the Amazon websites and most other online sellers, it can be ordered by any bookstore, and it will start appearing in bookstores soon. We also sell direct, at steep discounts, to personal success coaches and motivational speakers. Many companies and other organizations have begun to make reading this book a requirement for all new sales and other personnel.

    Our edition of TGR! is superior in every way to other versions on the market. It is a trade paperback, not a pocket-size mass market paperback. It is 412 pages versus 230+ (depending on the edition). It looks better, feels better, reads better than any other version. It is fast becoming the “version of choice” among Napoleon Hill devotees and other students of success and high achievement.

    Thank you for your time and attention.

    Ross Cornwell, Editor

  3. Chin WH

    It’s great to know that more and more people are getting exposed to The Secret and The Science of Getting Program. Recently Bob Proctor is talking about how to accelerate the process of attraction in an interview. Great stuff. You can get a copy of the interview here: http://www.visualizationtechnique.com

  4. Richard, great article…I never really considered the connection between the Law of Attraction and financial planning.

    Learning about the Law of Attraction and other Universal Laws is like finding a doorway to a fascinating subject that everyone should explore and look into a little deeper to discover the real truths behind The Secret and the Law of Attraction.

  5. The most important ingredient to measure one’s life when you think that you may only have a very short time left on this earth is that you were able to contribute something worthwhile and positive to your community/family and friends. The other ingredient is that you have fun, love what you do (have the passion for your chosen field) and are able to do your “work” to the best of your ability. If you follow these simple rules then I feel that you are successful and did make a difference. Riches are the end product of these steps. The Secret and all other motivational tools are used to remind us that we must stay focused, look at life positively and stay close to those around us who exemplify these traits. Look for the good in others and don’t belabor the negative. Help, cultivate, inspire and share our knowledge with others so that we know we did do something worth while in our life span.

  6. Q: On a routine visit to your doctor, you are told that you have a rare medical condition and you only have 6 months to live. Would you be doing what you are doing right now in your life and your business? If you aren’t, why not?

    A: I would be doing the exact same things I am doing right now: developing my business and my International Network of Social Entrepreneurs with all my passion and imagination!

  7. I would absolutely be doing the same thing I am doing now. I am PASSIONATE about Autism Spectrum Disorders, and making sure that EVERY individual has access to the appropriate interventions needed to afford them with an opportunity to live an independent, meaningful life! I LOVE MY WORK and put every aspect of my being into what I do, and into making a difference in the lives of others, who might not have otherwise been helped.

    At the end of the day, I am peaceful, happy, and excited about tomorrow, knowing I have done what I love to do all day, AND I sleep very well at night knowing I have made a significant contribution in the lives of many!

    Not many can say that about their work and I am GRATEFUL and THANKFUL that I can!

Leave a Reply

